Two questions that kill conversation

conversation killer
Have you ever begun a conversation with; How was your day? Or; What did you do today? Yikes, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve used those questions to try and start a conversation with my wife, and especially with my kids. I’ve found over the years that those questions kill the conversation before it ever begins.

 

I usually get, in response to those questions, a one word answer something like: “fine”, “okay”, “horrible” or “nothing”. Then the body language that says to me, go away, I don’t want to talk to you, or don’t bother me right now.

Glennon Doyle Melton, in her recent blogpost titled; A Way to Have Conversations that Will Lead to Deeper Relationships, has discovered some questions that open the door for heartfelt communication and conversation. Her discoveries come at the expense of experiencing the many questions that kill conversations.

What have you experienced with questions that kill conversation? Try on some questions Glennon suggests in her blogpost…life giving stuff there.

 

Leave a Reply

