opening the door

I was reading some fairly familiar verses in the Bible this morning, actually I think many of the verses that reference loving others are more commonly quoted. Here they are:

My dear children, let’s not just talk about love; let’s practice real love. This is the only way we’ll know we’re living truly, living in God’s reality. It’s also the way to shut down debilitating self-criticism, even when there is something to it. For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves. (1 John 3:18 MSG)

There is much to talk about in these verses, so you may see them again in later blog posts, but right now I’m looking into receiving love. The verses above are easy to understand for most of us; we need to do something to demonstrate our love for others. We get this I think, love is an action verb. My wife actually has a T-shirt she got at a women’s retreat that says;

Love is a Verb

The receiving of love is a different animal though for us. There is something inside us that whispers quite often,

you don’t deserve it

. Do you hear that voice? I know I do. I’d love to hear from you the words that the voice speaks to you.

Leave a Reply

