No Wrongs?

I’ve been sinking my teeth into this verse from 1 Corinthians 13; “love keeps no record of wrongs.” Here the verse as it appears in a cluster of sentences describing the essence of love.

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

We read in the Psalms of this God who is love and who keeps no record of wrongs. David wrties this is Psalm 103:

8 The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
slow to anger, abounding in love.
9 He will not always accuse,
nor will he harbor his anger forever;
10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west, 
   so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

13 As a father has compassion on his children,

   so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him;

God doesn’t keep a record of wrongs committed against him, from what I hear David saying here and He asks us to do the same in relationships we have here on earth. I’ve found keeping a record of wrongs will lead me into emotional unhealth and negatively affect my key relationships. The beautiful thing about the Holy Spirit who lives in me is that He gives me many opportunities in life to bring my personal record keeping into the light. This is possible thanks to the redeeming work (love, acceptance and forgiveness) offered to me and everyone in Jesus Christ.

This work is our source for Relational Traction if we receive it and live in the grace so freely given by the One who is love. Examine your heart…do you have a list of wrongs buried somewhere that produces unhealthy emotional reactions and responses to the ones you love? Are you free?

Leave a Reply

