Bittersweet Symphony

If you have been following my blogposts here at Relational Traction, I’ve been looking at hiding and mask wearing. Hiding and masking come naturally to us. We looked at the reason for this in the previous blogpost. This morning I was working on our monthly newsletter and a song I’ve never heard before came through Pandora. Here is the song with lyrics.

<a href=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/t9u9mZz-o-g“>

The lyrics that caught my attention were these:

Well I’ve never prayed, but tonight I’m on my knees, yeah

I need to hear some sounds that recognize the pain in me, yeah

I let the melody shine, let it cleanse my mind, I feel free now

But the airways are clean and there’s nobody singing to me now

No change, I can change, I can change, I can change

But I’m here in my mold, I am here in my mold

And I’m a million different people from one day to the next

I can’t change my mold, no, no, no, no, no

([Incomprehensible])

I can’t change, I can’t change

‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life

Try to make ends meet, try to find some money then you die

I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down

You know the one that takes you to the places

Where all the veins meet, yeah

The idea that life is a “bittersweet symphony” and in this life we “try to make ends meet, try to find some money then you die”, is a perspective many people share today. I must admit…I have journeyed in this thinking. I have also roamed in the relational realm of being ” a million different people’, so to speak, realizing I can’t change.

There is something beautiful in the gospel of Jesus Christ and that is this, my faith in Christ has set me free from the “bittersweet symphony”. My reality is that I have been made new and efforts to change the old mold just keep me in bondage, denying what is now true about me. As my friends at TrueFaced say; “God isn’t interested in changing us, because He already has. ” This is a truth that will set you free from hiding and masking. More to come…

Leave a Reply

